Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

Congratulations to our Student Athletes!

On Tuesday, May 21st, Molloy celebrated its annual Athletic Awards! Athletic Director Mr. Mike McCleary recognizes members from each JV and Varsity team for their performances and contributions to the 2023-24 athletic year. Before awards were announced, Mr. McCleary shared, “In my view, what makes Molloy the special place it is, are the people. Decades of student-athletes and coaches before us have laid down the foundation so we can enjoy our current success. The greatest way to measure a school is through the accomplishments and actions of its students, alumni, parents, and fans. Your accomplishments this year contribute to this success.”

Several different awards were distributed over the course of the event, including Coach’s Awards, MVP Awards, Scholar Athlete Awards, the Firefighter Timothy Klein ‘08 Scholarship (awarded to Aoife Garvey ’25 and Sean Green ’25), and the Jack Curran Outstanding Athlete Award. The Curran Award recognizes the top overall male and female senior athletes, and this year, Elijah Small ‘24 and Eva Gonzalez ‘24 were presented with the award! Elijah is committed to playing basketball at Vermont Academy Prep School, and Eva is committed to competing in track & field at Adelphi University. Congratulations, Elijah and Eva, and congratulations to all our student athletes!

In addition, congratulations to Chris Dalton ’24 and Deirdre O’Toole ’24, who have completed their time representing Molloy in the CHSAA Captains Club. This is a league-wide group with members from each Catholic high school in Queens and Brooklyn. Club members attend meetings to discuss league policies and make recommendations to help keep the Catholic in the CHSAA. During Athletic Awards Night, Chris and Deirdre passed the baton to Aoife Garvey ‘25 and Brendan Twomey ’25, who will represent Molloy next year in the club!

Click Here to view the full photo gallery

Watch a video tribute to our athletes below.